Buckley's Mix

Student Bios

Posted September 1, 2019, 09:09 ET Comments Off on Student Bios

Ved Dashputre

I was born and raised in New Jersey by my parents, who are immigrants from India. I am a graduate of Penn State, where I earned a degree in Supply Chain and Information Systems Management. After college, I worked at Ford Motor Company in both office and factory roles. I later worked in rural California on a successful Congressional race (Josh Harder, CA-10).
My academic and legal interests focus primarily on the application of empiricism and economics to the law, with special interest in antitrust and regulatory law.

Patrick Griffo

I am a native of western Kentucky. I am a graduate of Bellarmine University in Louisville, KY, where I studied political science and Chinese language. I first moved to D.C. in August 2016 to work for Congressman John Yarmuth (KY-03) as a junior aide. I have spent the last two years working for the Department of Defense, where I primarily worked on East Asia issues until recently switching to focus on technology policy.

I enjoy cooking, running, and traveling back to my family’s home in western Kentucky, which is also home for three potbelly pigs, two goats, an assortment of hens, and one (very mean) rooster.

Will Lacy

I’m in the evening program for Mason Law. During the day I work as a software development product manager at Gartner down in Rosslyn. I’m looking to combine my experience working in private sector technology with the law improve legislation around technology, privacy, and national security. I try to squeeze in meetings of the Young Professionals in Foreign Policy European discussion group.

Before tech consulting, I received an MA in EU Policy Studies from JMU, which granted me to opportunity to work in President Schultz’s cabinet in the European Parliament in Brussels. I later worked briefly with the Syrian opposition in DC to shape US policy in relation to the Syrian civil war. As an undergraduate, I double-majored in History and Philosophy at Boston College, where I was a member of the BC Marching Band, University Chorale, and the Liturgy Arts Group, as well as a murder-mystery improv group called the Committee for Creative Enactments.”

Tabitha McPheron

I am a 25 year old from the Kansas City area, native to the Kansas side. I attended Kansas State University where I studied Secondary Education and Mathematics, then taught High School in Taiwan upon graduating. After my year teaching High School, I moved back to the Kansas City area where I taught 8th grade math the last two years. I really enjoyed my time teaching as I grew some great skills and incredible relationships.

I am extremely excited to be in Arlington, as I love learning new places and making a little more of this world feel like home. This love for learning, exploring, and fun is evident in a lot of my favorite pastimes. I listen to a lot of podcasts, love taking trips to new places, often try out a lot of different styles of workout classes or methods, and enjoy new ethnic food places. I would go watch a musical everyday if I had the time or money, or anything else that sounds fun or spontaneous, except I am not a big fan of concerts or pets (which is usually where I get judged). Of course, all of this only happens after I’ve had my coffee and hopefully around 8 hours of sleep.

I am excited to begin the process of getting to know everyone and working together to all survive this year as best we can. Feel free to reach out with any questions or if you need anything!

Travis O’Shell

I was raised in Charlotte, North Carolina, and I graduated from Appalachian State University (yes, that’s “the one who upset Michigan a while back”) in May 2018. During my time at Appalachian, I got involved in student government and earned degrees in Political Science and Communication. After graduating, I worked as a Language and Culture Assistant at an elementary school a suburb of Sevilla, Spain. I had an amazing year enjoying what may be the most upbeat and carefree job I’ll ever have and traveling at every opportunity.

I’m now thrilled to be back to “real life” and getting things going at Scalia Law this fall. While I am among the many 1L’s who are not 100% set on any one career path yet, I am excited to explore my longtime interests in Criminal, International and Public Interest Law throughout my time here.

Veronica Peltz

I am originally from Denver, CO and went to school at Coe College in Iowa where I studied Political Science and Public Relations. I previously interned for Congressman Dan Kildee on The Hill and currently work as an analyst.

Maxwell Reinhard

I am currently the Compliance Coordinator and in-house Paralegal for Artis Senior Living, LLC, a McLean, VA-based owner and operator of memory care assisted living residences. My professional focus on state-level healthcare regulations inspire my broader interests in administrative law, regulated industries, and secured lending.

I am a 2015 graduate of the University of Mary Washington, where I earned my B.A. in History cum laude. My undergraduate studies focused on Eastern European state socialist regimes and my senior thesis examined the East German secret police’s surveillance of LGBT rights groups within churches. I also hold a paralegal certificate from George Mason University.
I am a dual citizen of the United States and Germany and live in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, VA with my fiance Robyn and their labradane (Great Dane/Lab mix) named Balthazar (after the magus). I balance my professional life and legal studies with healthy commitments to exercise, travel, and being a “foodie.”

Walter Smith

I grew up in northern Virginia and attended Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP), earning a Bachelor of Science in Accounting and graduating in 2012. For the last four and a half years, I worked at an Alexandria, VA accounting firm, working in tax compliance. During that time, I earned my CPA license and a Master of Taxation from the University of Denver. While at Scalia Law, I hope to focus on tax and get a job in that practice area after graduation.

Garrett Snedeker

Garrett Snedeker maintains the James Wilson Institute’s year-round presence in Washington, D.C. In addition to planning events, handling the Institute’s website, and running its office, he is the main point of contact for all partnership opportunities and media inquiries. A graduate of Amherst College and former student of Prof. Hadley Arkes, he has taught U.S. Government and U.S. History at a boarding school and served as editor of the congressional research website LegiStorm. His writing has been featured in The Federalist and the Online Library of Law & Liberty. He has been quoted in Politico, Roll Call, and the Boston Herald and collaborated on stories for the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and National Journal. He is originally from Manhasset, NY. He is married and currently lives in Washington, DC.

Payton Thornton

I was born and raised in a Football Coach’s family in West Texas. Growing up around cotton farmers and Baptist preachers, I spent most of my life in a small rural community in Plainview, Texas. I am a proud recent alum of Oklahoma State University, where I studied Marketing and Entrepreneurship. I moved to Washington, DC in the spring after graduation and started working for a think tank.

I have a few ideas of what areas of law I want to go into but am unsure of my exact calling at this point. I am interested in the Law and Economics Program and the Antitrust Program, as well. I am excited to use my background in business and free enterprise in law school, and I look forward to the discussions we will have in Contracts I and II over the coming year.
A little bit more about myself: I enjoy composing music, writing, and visiting different coffee shops in my free time. I actively attend Waterfront Church in DC and enjoy the occasional cigar. Other times, you will find me lounging in my hammock at the park or talking a friend’s ear off! I look forward to a great year.


Comments are closed.